Winners Announced at the 2018 Golden Joystick Awards

19 Nov 2018 Monday
Winners Announced at the 2018 Golden Joystick Awards
Furkan Sakoğlu
Furkan Sakoğlu Editor

Game of the year is: Fortnite

The wait is finally over as the results of the 36th Golden Joystick Awards presented with AMD are revealed. The winners in 23 categories were announced today at the award ceremony held at London’s Bloomsbury Big Top and live streamed on Twitch.

Award highlights include:

  • Fortnite Battle Royale (Epic Games) wins Best Competitive Game and Ultimate Game of the Year
  • Red Dead Redemption 2 (Rockstar Games) wins the Critics’ Choice Award
  • God of War (SIE Santa Monica Studio) wins five awards including PlayStation Game of the Year, Best Storytelling, Best Visual Design and Best Audio, with SIE Santa Monica Studio also winning Studio of the Year
  • Subnautica (Unknown Worlds) wins PC Game of the Year, with developer Unknown Worlds also winning the Breakthrough Award
  • Hidetaka Miyazaki accepts the Lifetime Achievement Award on stage
  • Xbox Adaptive Controller wins the Outstanding Contribution Award

Full list of winners:

Best Storytelling: God of War

Best Competitive Game: Fortnite Battle Royale

Best Cooperative Game: Monster Hunter: World

Best Visual Design: God of War

Best Indie Game: Dead Cells

Best Audio: God of War

Still Playing Award: World of Tanks

Best Performer: Bryan Dechart, Detroit: Become Human

Esports Game of the Year: Overwatch

Best VR Game: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim VR

Studio of the Year: SIE Santa Monica Studio

Best New Streamer / Broadcaster: Bryan Dechart and Amelia Rose Blaire

Mobile Game of the Year: PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds Mobile

PC Game of the Year: Subnautica

PlayStation Game of the Year: God of War

Xbox Game of the Year: Forza Horizon 4

Nintendo Game of the Year: Octopath Traveler

Breakthrough Award: Unknown Worlds

Most Wanted Game: Cyberpunk 2077

Critics Choice Award: Red Dead Redemption 2

Lifetime Achievement Award: Hidetaka Miyazaki

Outstanding Contribution: Xbox Adaptive Controller

Ultimate Game of the Year: Fortnite Battle Royale